Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
253 Posts
luttrell1606 said:
I live in the Seattle area and am looking for a reputable bike shop in the area. I am a beginner rider and looking for the right bike and advice.
There are a lot of good bike shops in the area.

First find a bike shop that will give you a free fitting if you purchase a bike from them. Open the phone book and start calling the shops. If they don't measure and fit you if you buy a bike, call the next shop on the list. Some guys have enough experience to be pretty close just by looking at you. Then once you are on the bike, they can look at your position and make some adjustments from there.
Second, decide on your budget and just tell the shop your budget (Make sure to leave some room in your budget to purchase shoes, pedals, saddle bag, an extra tube, pump, helmet, glasses and clothes for cycling.)
Third, tell them what type of riding you plan on doing in the next few years. If they salesman is using jargon you don't understand, tell them and ask them to explain what they are telling you will actually mean once you are riding the bike.
Fourth, remeber that wheels are most important, frame second and components third except for a saddle that is comfortable for you is of the utmost importance. Be willing to spend more on wheels, then frame then components. You can always upgrade componenets as they wear out. You might purchase a stock frame but upgrade the wheels if the shop will give you trade in value. This is always a good option.