Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

· Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am relatively new to the road bike world. I have been mountain biking for years but I want to get on the road as well. There are a ton of clubs in my area, but I know many of them are very hardcore. What should I be looking for? I am a quick learner and I am sure that once I get going I will pick up a lot of the nuances of road biking. I just want to avoid a situation where I am stuck with a bunch of hammerheads that are on my case the whole time.

· Premium Member
15,996 Posts
I'm not quite sure what you mean by "on your case," but most roadies -- even hammerheads -- are pretty nice.

If you say "Hey, I'm pretty new to roadbiking from MTBs, mind if I hop in your ride?" If they're nice enough to say yes (most will be, at least if you were in my area), then they're gonna be decent enough not to give you any crap.

As long as you can ride a straight line, aren't squirrely, and don't sneeze / spit all over everyone, you'll be fine.

If the ride doesn't end up being what you like, then just drop off, ride on your own that day, and find another group.

ON THE OTHER HAND, if the reason you don't want to ride with hammerheads is that you don't want to get dropped, well, I can't help you. :)

· Registered
89 Posts
What road bike do you have first?

Hang near their meeting location and then coincidentally join one of their rides, ask if you can draft. Don't try to impress by sprinting as you will eventually be dropped, just pace your self at keeping up at the back group peleton.!!

· Registered
635 Posts
just show up. if they arent nice, well, then they are jerks, and find another group (you said there were a bunch). once you are "in" you get to know the different clubs and can switch if need be. but for starters just show up and introduce yourself, no harm in that.

· Registered
339 Posts