Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Here is my problem. I bought some new shoes (Suplest) replacing my old DMT shoes. After adjusting the cleats and checking it many times I went for a very slow twenty minute ride. After I got back I noticed a little achilles pain, as well as little behind the inner knee on the right side. I have measured the thickness of the sole on both shoes and they are both even. Cleat placement is the best I can do based on the old shoe placement. I am using same saddle, pedals, cleats, and shorts. Ball of foot is over pedal axle. I have been riding for 26 years, been through many shoe changes and been riding on TIME pedals since 1990. Using TIME RSX pedals now.
I have never had any pain before making any shoe changes in all the years I have been riding. I was thinking it could be a break in period, but any pain doesn't seem right. I have no issues with the left leg. The cleat placement looks good, matched the left shoe to the right shoe. Clipped in the Q factor looks good. Everything looks right and I don't know where I could make any adjustment. Anyone have this issue and what was the remedy to resolve it. (if I ride with the old shoes everything is fine).

·
Recycle King
870 Posts
You are aware everybody's body structure changes in the course of their lifetime. This is true with a person's height and the feet size. I used to sell men's dress shoes and causal shoes like Bostonian, Johnston & Murphy, Cole-Haan, Clarks, Timberland and the likes. I remember during training, they mentioned a person might wear a size 10 when they are in their 20s, 30s, but their foot might expand width wise and they might have to go up 1/2 size. This could be from the bones in your foot thickening, or if you are on your feet alot during the day over the course of years and years.