Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
All the reviews I have read say that Tiagra sucks. Why is this and why is 105 or Ultegra so much better? I am thinking of buying my first road bike and I do not want to pay a good amount of money for something that is terrible. Any explanation will be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

·
Larry Lackapants
698 Posts
If you can get it signifficantly cheaper than 105, Tiagra doesn't suck at all. Personally I don't think it's low quality but then again I haven't ridden ultegra, da or that many 105 parts. Expensive parts still need to be set up right to shift for eample, and this is the same with cheaper parts too. Often poor behaviour of the cheaper groups is due to the very small amount of effort taken to set them up right.

My own 2 cents
Good luck
br

·
Registered
180 Posts
First of all, the shifters aren't the same design - separate thumb levers. In my opinion, as an experienced mechanic, I wouldn't think of buying anything below the 105 level. Ultegra is the value spot, but the 105 stuff (especially this seaon) is a real bargain. Properly installed, setup, and adjusted, that componenet group is a real bargain. If at all possible, find a way to avoid the triple-crank setup - either use a road double or a compact. The triple cranksets are incredibly sensitive and do not perform well at all.

·
Registered
376 Posts
Unless I missed something, you are confusing this with Sora

gmcastil said: