Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, I am new to biking and just bought my first road bike today (yay!) I found a '99 specialized s-works m4 for $300 off of craigslist and it seemed to be in good shape; all the parts are still in working order and it has never suffered any crashes/damage. Is this worth what I paid for it? Is this a good first bike?

There are so many things involved with biking that it is a bit overwhelming! I have some questions about bike maintenance. What are things I should do for my bike (weekly, monthly, etc).

Also, the bike did not come with pedals (she needed them for her other bike) so what kind/type should I get?

Here is a picture of the "new" bike!

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I bought the bike already, sorry for the confusion. My housemates are into biking and they said it looked in really good shape. I guess I was just looking for bike maintenance advice and also what kind of shoes/pedals I should look into getting. Thanks!

·
Registered
10 Posts
Nice looking bike! I have learned my wrenching skills from YouTube and Sheldon Brown's blog. As far as what needs to be done and at what time is all just opinion. I get a professional tune each spring and replace cables and other consumable parts as needed. I get peace of mind knowing a pro has looked my bike over every year. I suggest you get a full tune by a mechanic, that way you can enjoy the bike now while you learn the basics of the sport.

·
Registered
1,381 Posts