Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

· Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to cycling and a training schedule I am trying out says to ride some hills. Any since I have only been riding a few months and only lived in Sacramento a few years I have yet to learn to scop out good hills to ride on - any suggestions for hill training in the Sacramento area? Thanks!

· Registered
1,942 Posts
How new to cycling? One good ride for a newbie is up the bike trail to Folsom Lake. That was my first climb when I started back up a few years ago.

From the bike trail, if you cross over the river on the footbridge just before Sunrise (through the parking lot) there is a hill climbing up out of the river valley. It's not long, but does get a bit steep.

Also, from the outlet shops on Iron Point/Folsom Blvd, you can head up Iron Point. There's a pretty good hill just past E Bidwell. Make a left at the top on Empire Ranch. A left at E. Natoma, and straight back. A mile or 2 after passing Green Valley, on the right you can pick up the bike trail again to loop back to start.

There are more hills nearby in the El Dorado Hills area, some of which are reasonably difficult (or quite hard), depending on your fitness level.

Where are you riding now? Riding speed? Distance on a long ride? etc.

· Registered
1,027 Posts
Head to Auburn. Nothing but hills up there. All types. Indian Hill, Bald hill, Chili Hill, are a few that come to mind

· Registered
758 Posts
cjb011 said:
I'm new to cycling and a training schedule I am trying out says to ride some hills. Any since I have only been riding a few months and only lived in Sacramento a few years I have yet to learn to scop out good hills to ride on - any suggestions for hill training in the Sacramento area? Thanks!