Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello everyone, first post! I'm totally new to road bikes and am considering getting a road bike at the recommendation of my boyfriend, who recently purchased a Specialized Tarmac Elite (his first road bike although his previous bike was a track bike). I've actually ridden REALLY crappy bikes a LOT... mostly I rode around Shanghai every day on a super cheap (second cheapest bike I could find), rickety, ill-fitting bicycle with tires that I basically had to put air in every day... which is what the majority of students around there ride. I've also ridden around on rental/borrowed mountain bikes in Japan before.

I've never ridden a really fitted expensive bike and actually was always happy with the crappy ones I've ridden. Since I have EXTREMELY low standards and have never ridden a road bike before, I am pretty nervous about dropping a lot of money off the bat on an expensive road bike because I just have the feeling that I might ruin it and/or kill myself as a first time rider. I tried a Dolce out out at the store and although my boyfriend said I looked fine on it, it felt super weird to me. I am only a little over 5'1 so I fit the 44cm frame, and those skinny 700c tires feel absolutely humongous. I have to slow down a LOT and give myself a lot of clearance to do make turns. Also I am scared at the thought of riding it around on the street with cars. In Shanghai there are huge mobs of bikes everywhere and there is pretty much a bike lane wherever you'd go, and when I rode in Japan it was mostly in the countryside. The tires also scare me because I've only ever ridden smaller wider tires on crappy roads and don't know how these road bike tires would deal with that and with dirt and rain, etc. (presumably not that well).