Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i just recently got an indoor trainer for my road bike. i have never used one before and am fairly new to road biking. i was wondering what kind of workout i could do on this thing to start with? i have a heart rate monitor but i don't have a cadence option on my cycling computer. should i get one? and what can i do in the meantime? thanks

·
Registered
896 Posts
you don't need a cadence monitor. inside you have nothing better to do, so count of rpm's for 10secs every once and awhile. thats plenty. I watch VS and cooking shows while listening to techno on sirius. as for my training plan, I do whatever my coach has presrcibed for the day. BTW, I ride a schwinn spin bike. I can't stand bikes on turbo trainers, but that's me, and most people don't agree with me.

·
Registered
286 Posts
I use a metronome to keep cadence while using the trainer. I have a gear table, so by knowing my cadence I know how "fast" I'm going. I have an older bike dedicated to the trainer and didn't want to bother getting another bike computer.

Dancer

·
Beatchin' Technology
372 Posts
depends...

I should do more intervals, I guess. But, it isn't something that I look forward to in the offseason.

About half the time I spin in the middle of the cassette on the big ring at 90rpm for an hours. Also, do Spinervals DVDs. Sometimes I watch a movie for an hour to an hour and half. Finally, I watch race (TdF, Giro) DVDs.

·
Registered
2,604 Posts
Even if I plan a trainer ride for only 30 minutes or an hour, having a very structured plan helps me a lot.

Just getting on and thinking "ride for an hour" with no structure is a nightmare.

So have a plan!

Here is just an example for a three hour (previously unheard of) trainer ride I found on-line.

Hour One - warming up
15 minute warm up (160 watts)
15 minute Single Leg Drill (1 minute left leg, 1 minute right leg, 1 minute both, repeat)