Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,

I am just getting into riding and look for an entry level bike. I have looked at a few bikes but have not test rode any of these yet. Any feedback on any of these and are these fair prices?

2007 Trek 1200 - $700 (this may even be a 2006)
2007 Specialized Allez (not sure of double, triple, etc.) - $950
2007 Trek Portland - $1000

·
Registered
33 Posts
Are you buying from an individual or from a bike shop?
Without you getting into the buildup / condition of the bikes it is tough to speak to what is a good value; however, what I can tell you (from another newbie roadie) is that I was VERY happy buying my bike from a professional bike shop.

There is no economy in buying a bike that doesn't fit you or one that has been poorly maintained. You won't ride it or like it. You can buy a nice bike in the range you are shopping in from a reputable bike dealer that will fit you and will put a smile on your face for years to come... Just my $0.02

·
Adventure Seeker
5,123 Posts
I do agree with getting fit. Of the three, they're comparable. You could also look into getting sized, looking at bikesdirect.com (they've got a couple good values for the price) and get a bike shop to assemble, tune, and fit it for you.

·
Registered
304 Posts
What if you don't like it?

I am also a newbie and bought a bike two days ago. I forced myself not to drop a bag of cash because I want to know if I will like the sport first. I set a $500.00 used bike budget and started calling people I trust and whom I know seriously ride (friends / colleagues who really know their stuff since I don't hehe!) asking if someone had a bike for sale. My accountant did and he had already done 95% of the upgrades through the years so I bought his bike. (More bang for your buck!!! Like 1 Year Old Ferrari) The bike looks new and it rides great.