Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
216 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
SOOOOO.....
Im in my second year road biking, did two CAT4/5 races last year. I have a day job and have a horse breeding/training business at home so I don't have unlimited hours for training. I read a few articles and books over the winter and determined that by monitoring your heart rate, you can actually maximize your training time.
I bought a computer with HRM, and the first thing I did was check out my resting heart rate. This came up as 55 bpm. Didn't think much of it, but checked it again the next day and again, 55 bpm. I started wearing it as I ride and found I can comfortably ride for 70 - 80 minutes (my average commute time) in the 155 - 165 bpm range. Again, didn't think much of it.
Then I looked at one of those HR charts posted in the gym, and saw that for my age (I'm 35) my max heart rate should be 180 - 185, and that according to the charts, I'm spending an hour at 80 - 90% of my max heart rate. If I work backwards, figuring I'm actually in the 70 -80% of my max HR, then my max would be around 200 bpm. I know these charts are less than scientific, but I'm curious if I should see a doctor about this?

Oh, and I tried another HRM (and the old fashioned finger on the wrist method) just to make sure it wasn't a calibration isssue.

·
Registered
1,939 Posts
Don't sweat it...yet...

The charts at the gym are based on a very generic formula: 220-age=max HR. Everyone is different and your personal Max can be dramatically different. For instance, I'm 32. According to those charts I should have a max HR in the upper 180's. My actual max is 202. That changes the zones and percentages a lot.

During your next race, really give it all you got towards the end. My highest recorded HRs are always at the end of races. Ramp up the pace towards the end and bust a nut in the finish sprint.