Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,
I'm completely new to the concept of road biking. Some guys form my work go out a lot after work and I joined them last week and had a blast so I'm in the market for a bike.
Thant being said, this is what I'm looking for and this is what I have found......
I'm a newbie, they will ride anywhere from 15-30 miles a night (not much for most I'm guessing). When I went out with them we did 18 and I was perfectly fine with that. As it is my first bike, I dont want to spend too much, but I dont want a POS either.
I found a Trek 1220 from a guy on eBay. (I'm posting this a little hastily, but I want a bike sooner rather than later) Not sure of the year yet, but this is what it has (in his words)..."It has RSX brakes w/ intergrated shifters, RSX triple cranks, RX100 derail's, and TitanTech wheels w/ Itterio Kevlar tires that are near new but dirty sidewalls. No cracks that I can see and very few marks from riding."
I know very little about this stuff, so if you all could give me some insight, it would be really apreciated.
When I know the year, mileage, ect that I jsut asked him I will add that stuff on.
But, until then if you all could give your opinions on this, it would be great!
Thanks

·
Two wheels=freedom!
708 Posts
How much? Do you think the size is good for you? I'm guessing from the pics it's like a 56-57cm frame. Have you ridden a bike about that size? The RSX is older 7 speed, servicable but about bottom of the Shimano line up. The RSX might have a hard time if you begin riding a lot. The pic shows a double crank, your description says triple. The guy doesn't sound like the owner/rider of the bike, just a re-seller.