Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone.
I have been riding now for four years. I ride all year round on the road and mountain. I orginally mountain biked when my riding buddy let me borrow his road bike once and I got the bug, went out and bought a road bike of my own.
Whenever I ride in a group be it road or mountain, I'm usually one of the guy taking up the back. For 2011 all this is going to change. I have never trained before and don't have a clue where to start. So far all I've done is ride.
I have both Friel Cyclist's traning bible and Carmichael's Ultimate ride books, and heart rate monitor. Don't have a powermeter at the time that out of my price range. I can put in 4-5 day of training a week.
I want to do everything in 2011 right and wanted some advice on where to start. Thanks

·
Impulse Athletic Coaching
5,576 Posts
Kendogz161 said:
Hello everyone.
I have been riding now for four years. I ride all year round on the road and mountain. I orginally mountain biked when my riding buddy let me borrow his road bike once and I got the bug, went out and bought a road bike of my own.
Whenever I ride in a group be it road or mountain, I'm usually one of the guy taking up the back. For 2011 all this is going to change. I have never trained before and don't have a clue where to start. So far all I've done is ride.
I have both Friel Cyclist's traning bible and Carmichael's Ultimate ride books, and heart rate monitor. Don't have a powermeter at the time that out of my price range. I can put in 4-5 day of training a week.
I want to do everything in 2011 right and wanted some advice on where to start. Thanks
A coach.

·
Registered
409 Posts
Assuming you have an adequate aerobic base, try to establish an annual training plan based on Friel's book and strive towards accomplishing those goals.

A power meter would really help your training. Try to get one because it will change everything.

·