Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
169 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I have this bike

Diamondback Bicycles - Diamondback Bikes, 2017 Haanjo EXP Carbon

It comes with 27.5 wheels and 2.1" knobbies. They work really well for what they are, but they do slow me down on pavement.
I want a set of 700c wheels for 30mm to 45ish mm road/touring/gravel tires.
It has 12mm through-axles front and rear. Disc brakes. Probably 32 spoke since I am 200lbs and will do some loaded touring and dirt, but mostly just unloaded commuting and trying to keep up on group rides.

I'm new to wheel upgrades and buying, so don't really know what the best resources or options are. Scanning the web a little bit, I found nothing that really seems to fit. Is 12mm axles an unusual thing?

I would get a set of rotors too, so I can easily switch from dirt wheels to road wheels for any given ride.

·
CX'er
863 Posts
the 12mm front thru-axle is a little newer than other thru-axle standard as it came about from the road disc push which is recent.

I always recommend Velocity USA for custom builds using an aluminum rim because I like their products and they're local to me. There are quite a few other wheel builders as well that do a great job. I'm not sure how heavier you're looking to go but from velocity I would look at the cliffhanger, dyad, or aileron rims, listed from strongest to more race worthy. The atlas/noBS rims would be a heavy touring option.

·
Premium Member
2,714 Posts
Word of caution: you are converting from 650B (27.5") and 2.1" tires to 700c (29") and 45mm tires. Make sure you have enough clearance (especially at the fork crown) to do so.