Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am totally new to riding. I was a runner having done several marathons but none
in about 6 years. I want to get in close to that shape again but don't want to run
long distances. A friend has gotten me excited about riding. In case it matters I am
5'9",about 160lbs and 48 years old.

I am going to buy a 2011 Specialized Secteur Elite. I have looked at a lot of different brands and have gotten to the point that it is time to pull the trigger. The problem is I keep
going back and forth on which setup to get. I have been to my LBS but the next time I go in I want to know the exact model of the Secteur I want so I can try to get at least some kind of deal.

I would love to get the Shimano 105 but don't want to go that much over my budget if I don't need to. I am hearing different things on what Elite you will have to get in order to get
the 105. LBS originally said you have to go to the Comp ($1650 msrp) but it looks like some sites say it will be offered in just the Elite ($1499 msrp). I can get a 2010 with the 105 for $1250 but it is a triple and I want a compact.

One guy at my LBS, not the owner, is telling me the new Tiagra on the 2011 Elite
($1200 msrp) is the equivalent to the 2010 Shimano 105, trickle down effect. That does
not seem correct to me because even with my limited knowledge I think the Tiagra has 9 gears. Thoughts on that ?

This is where I am at. I would like to stay under $1500 out the door with at least a bike, pedals, shoes, helmet, computer and whatever basic parts/tools needed while riding. It seems like the best most people are getting is about 10% of msrp. I would be fine if I can get $100 off either model and the usual 10-15% off accessories.