Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
304 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
YES, I am a newbie!!! Hi my name is Joe!!! Dallas, Tx!! :)

I want to say Thanks for all the buying advice. I ended up picking up the phone and calling all the people I know who seriously ride. Turned out my accountant (whom I trust explicitly) had upgraded to a Trek 5200 a few months back and had a Trek 1100 which he had upgraded significantly; bought it for $500.00. Figure he had done all the upgrades and dirty work; good beginner for me.

So, the question is what if anything should I upgrade; kind of want to do something just to make it my own. ; ) I have $200.00 to spend in my budget.

Here are the specs.
Trek 1100 Not sure of year, but think it's 2001 or so
105 Front Derailleur
105 Rear Derailleur
105 Shift Levers (feel so crisp!)
New 9 Speed Rear Cartridge
New 3 Gears front Crank (Not 105)
New "Rolf-Vector Comp" Wheels
Bantrager Tires - almost new
Saddle is "Serfas" - almost new
CatsEye Computer ( I use a Garmin 405 watch with heart monitor for running probably use for bike too)
** Dia-Compe BRS Edge Calipers front and rear

I was thinking about looking for used Shimano 105 or Ultegra Calipers just because I never heard of the Dia-Compe.

Sorry so long, just excited .... suggestions would be fantastic. : ) Already paid dues for local club and plan on riding alone next few weeks before joining them. Already bought extra tubes, air-canisters, tools, seat bag, High-End Shorts, Shirts, Good Jar-Head Cover!! See, I learn from your postings!!!

I run marathons and am using this as cross training, but am planning a triathlon next year. : )

Thanks so much again and again :thumbsup: :thumbsup:
Joe

·
Registered
21,832 Posts
Just ride it

g8keyper said:
So, the question is what if anything should I upgrade; kind of want to do something just to make it my own. ; ) I have $200.00 to spend in my budget.