Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Guys,

I have been riding mountain bikes for the past 7 years and have finally been inspired enough by my friends and watching the Tour to get a road bike. I am thinking used would be the way to go and can probably spend up to $3,000 for a rig. Any suggestions of frames/gruppos that I need to get for my first ride? Should I definately go full carbon frame and fork if I can?

Also, I am 5'10" and have a 32 inch inseam. Should I be riding a 54cm frame?

Thanks for the help.:D

·
Adventure Seeker
5,115 Posts
Welcome to the forums. A good, reputable bike shop will be able to get you fitted for the right bike. You can easily get a carbon bike with nice components at that price. When getting fit, make sure to tell the fitter (assuming he's a good one, that is!) what type of riding you will be doing. Distance riding vs. racing will give you two very different set ups and sizes. Everyone wants to go fast, and many fitters just set you up for fast, but not comfort. He should ask a lot of questions to determine the set up. If not, find another fitter/bike shop.

·
Registered
586 Posts