Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

· Registered
306 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I am thinking of getting some new wheels for my bike.
Some backround info: i am 130lbs
I have giant ocr 3. (whith stock wheels)
i have been riding seriously for about 2 years
Next year I plan on joining a team and racing.

I am very new to the technical stuff about bikes. I would say i "know what i am doing" riding wise.

Ok my tube has 2 numbers on it. 25 -622 and in parentheses (700 x 25c)
what do these numbers mean and can anyone recommend a decent set of wheels. I dont want to be spending much money at all. Like around 350.

Thanks!!

p.s. i would like a wheel a bit thinner than the one i currently have.

· Registered
642 Posts
Depending on the rim interior, rims will accommodate a range of tire sizes.

http://sheldonbrown.com/tire-sizing.html

Chances are that you can put 23mm tires on your rims, if you want a "thinner wheel". An Upgrade to a really nice tire can make a difference. You may want to check the RBR tire reviews.

I don't know anything about race specific wheels, someone else could chime in here, but $350 seems like a low price point for racing wheels. For a little over $400 you could get a pair of Mavic Open Pro with Ultegra hubs which is a good all around wheel. I however, would give your current wheels a chance with better tires.

· Registered
306 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
oh, i didnt know you could put diff size tires on same rim, that will save a lot of money,:D !! But if i did want to get a whole new Wheel, (rim and tire) i would need to get one with the same numbers mentioned above. Except if i wanted a thinner one. then the 25 would be more like 23 or somehting. And the tires i currently have are clincher btw. So if i just got a new tire, same rim, would i have to replace the inner tube too?

thanks for your help

· Registered
642 Posts