Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been riding casually for a few years, but recently bought a trainer with the aim of working on improving as a cyclist - I don't really have any desire to race, but I'd like to be faster.

It seems I can pedal indefinitely at about 25kph (15.5mph) with a cadence of around 95. This is a pretty low speed. Previously I would travel quite a bit faster but by pushing a bigger gear at a lower cadence. What I'm wondering is how a person gets to the point of pedalling a cadence in the 90s on a larger gear at something like 40kph (25 mph). I know that is probably a journey of a number of years, but I would like to know if it is simply a matter of continuing to train by spinning, or is interval training what gets a person's average speed up?

Thanks in advance

·
Registered
205 Posts
lots of base miles to build your fuel tank. you cant go out and do intervals or hill repeats or other high intensity workouts without the base mileage. You will hit that 25mph but wont be able to maintain it for long and will cook your legs. Hard to say how to break down your training without knowing more about the riding you are doing. How many days do you ride, how many hours do you get in per week. Also what is the goal of the 25mph mark you mentioned. are you wanting to be able to do 25mph pulls for 60 seconds or less during group rides or are you wanting to do some TT's?

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·