Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone. I have a couple questions and I hope you guys can help me out. I am a college student, and I am trying to get into cycling for a number of reasons. The first reason is so that I can save money by biking to school. The second reason is so that I can start training for local triathlons. As stated before I am a college student so money is an issue. I want to get a decent roadbike that I can start with, but I want my maximum to be $150. Some of you might say that I can't find a decent one, but if you can give me some advice on where to start that would be awesome. Thank you very much!

·
Registered
5,192 Posts
Go on down to the corner of...

no way and no how and search. Honestly you have a budget that just is going to be next to impossible to buy anything "decent" used. Mind you, I'm not saying it can't be done but you will have to be as lucky. It will be used, start by scouring craigslist and trying to find bikes at a LBS that the previous owner brought in for repair and never reclaimed. Alot of shops have a policy after X# of days the property becomes theirs to do with it as they please. Alot of these bikes are donated to some charity around Xmas. Happy hunting.

·
Cycling induced anoesis
13,006 Posts
If you have a bike rescue in your area or freecycle they might be worth a try.

Google (name of your city/ town) bike rescue and freecycle.org

Depending on your locale I think CL may have some bikes in your general price range. Just hone your negotiating skills before calling the sellers. :)

·
waterproof*
41,608 Posts
it's not impossible. Craigslist, ask friends, thrift shops, garage sales.

Remember the most important thing is that the bike fits you. Learn what that means.

·
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
8,107 Posts