Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone, I've been lurking here for a while but never registered--love the site.

I am very impressed with the quality of advice which led me to register and ask for some myself.

I'm looking to replace the Mavic cxp22's that came with a used Allez Elite I purchased on ebay. The stock hubs are in need of overhaul, which I plan to do but I want to keep them and the rims as set spares.

I am looking a purchasing a set of Zipp 101's from wheelbuilders.com but wanted a sanity check before I pulled the trigger--it's my first time purchasing new rims and there seems to be a lot to consider.

How do the zipp's hold up on a heavier rider and has anyone done business with wheelbuilders.com?

I assume that I need a higher spoke count to compensate for my weight or at least that's what I've been reading on the inter-tubes.

Should I go for the DT Swiss 240's or the Zipp 88's?

About me: I'm a new rider, say 6 months in the saddle, am 183cm tall and weigh 100kg. I put in about 100km a week and 60km rides on the weekends when I'm not spearfishing :p

·
Premium Member
2,714 Posts
Do yourseld a favor and stay away from 18 and 20 spoke builds no matter what the rim is. Some may argue that Zipp rates these things for riders up to 250 lbs but, unless there is a compelling reason to push the envelope for the sake of saving a few grams, recreational riding does not justify such compromise on durability.

My advise, for wharever is worth to you, is to go with a 23x24-28 rim and 24f/28r or 28f/32r spokes. The later may be a bit overbuilt but will not slow your clubriding down.