Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone,

I am pretty new to road biking and I'm not sure if I've jumped into the deep end of the pool...... I recently signed up for a charity ride that will go from Providence, RI to Seattle, WA spanning approx. 4,000 miles. Do you have any suggestions on how to prepare for this ride, what to do while on the road, basically ANY tips and suggestions??? I plan to buy a Specialized Roubaix for this occasion as it seems that the Zertz inserts in the seat stays, fork, and post will be beneficial. I've never worn cycling apparel every day for two months before and I'm a bit worried about comfort, especially being in the saddle all day long. Please feel free to share any tips, suggestions, or recommendations that would help me out!!!

Much thanks in advance!!!

·
Registered
132 Posts
for training advise check out UMCA at www.ultracycling.org, RUSA www.rusa.org and PAC tour websites. RUSA organizes local long distance rides-brevets, I'd suggest to contact local brevet administrator. In some places there're organized training groups, they ride 2-3 centuries a week. Also AIDS rides have training groups, worth checking good luck.

·
Registered
21,743 Posts
Train a little, ride into it