Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I road my road bike by myself for a while, then got the tri bug. I have been doing that for about 2 years now. I really love biking and want to understand how the road bike racing works. I don't really understand the lingo or race events. What would a newbie start racing in? For triathlons there is the sprint races and Olympic. What would be the equivalent, or is there. Thanks for the help.

Eric

·
classiquesklassieker
3,106 Posts
EricMPeterson said:
So I road my road bike by myself for a while, then got the tri bug. I have been doing that for about 2 years now. I really love biking and want to understand how the road bike racing works. I don't really understand the lingo or race events. What would a newbie start racing in? For triathlons there is the sprint races and Olympic. What would be the equivalent, or is there. Thanks for the help.

Eric
In the US, there are categories for amateurs, starting from 5 ('cat 5') all the way up to 1 ('cat 1').

To move up from 5 to 4 you just have to start 10 mass start races and not die. Other upgrades require you to earn points, etc.

For the full glorious detail, look in the USA Cycling website or whichever federation is in your country. Sign up for a race license, and you'll automatically be considered whatever the lowest cat is.

Before you jump into racing, it will be very good for you (and other racers) if you do some group riding first.

·
Registered
337 Posts
Alaska Mike said:
If you've got the engine, jump in with both feet
Nothing is worse than a rider with more speed than skill.

If you don't have experience doing hard and fast group rides, start doing them before you get into racing. Jumping into racing without group riding experience and mediocre bike handling skills is a good way to get yourself and others injured.

·
Registered
409 Posts