• Shimano Pedals

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
Trek, Felt F1, Shimano Ultegra, Mavic K's
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Roadbike Review, nice to virtually meet everyone,

My bike was stolen last week (pics attached, setup Ultegra), it was an older ride but many hours in the saddle and personal customizations make it difficult to let go.

I’m trying to replace it as soon as possible, hard to do with everything out of stock due to the pandemic, opinions & recommendations are greatly appreciated (so far narrowed it down to 3 frame options below):

I ride roughly 150-200 miles a week, weekdays are flats and weekends are climbs. I’m 5’11” with a slightly larger torso and as I’ve gotten older my setup is less aero than it used to be. My approach is to research a ton, invest wisely in the best, take very good care of it and keep for 10+ years.

Here’s the rub, I’ve tested the Emonda and I can ride away with it this weekend (from a shop I've never worked with before). Because of the industry’s supply & demand issues, the Pinarello and Colnago are anywhere from 4-8 months wait (from a shop owner I've trusted for years), however, he doesn't have anything in my size right now to test ride and I’ve never been on an Italian frame before.

• Trek Emonda SLR OCLV 800 (size 56)
  • Pinarello Dogma F12 (size 54)
  • Colgnago C64 (size TBD)

And since I've been away from the technology for so long:

• Carbon Wheelset recommendations?
  • Dura Ace or Ultegra to save a few bucks?
  • Disc or Rim brakes?
  • Tubeless or Clinchers?
  • SpeedPlay or Shimano pedals?

Thank you in advance!

·
Banned Sock Puppet
12,607 Posts
My advice would be to test ride lots of bikes and buy the one that fits you best and the one you like the feel of best.

Don't fall into the one brand is better than another. There are many great brands out there. Colnago and Pinarello are fancy names, but no better than Trek and many others. I also would not buy a bike I can't test ride first.

·
Registered