Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to road biking having been on a MB for years and used it to ride the roads. I now want to get a road bike with about a 2K budget.

My LBS is great. Their biggest selection is in Giant and Raleigh. They make great bikes, but I am interested in getting a Bianchi.

I did a brief test ride on a via Nirone with the 105 set that they had in stock. I think if I went that route I would upgrade to the veloce group and get it in celeste.:thumbsup:

My question is this:

They don't have the 928 in stock. I haven't asked, but I am sure that they could get their hands on one for a test ride. For those that have an opinion - would the "upgrade" in frame be worth it with the 105 components. I know I could always upgrade the components later if need be.

Also, does the 928 come in celeste? On the bianchi website, I only see a white with some celeste accents.

Thanks in advance for your help

·
Banned
460 Posts
I'm pretty sure you can get the 928 in celeste. I have a Via Nirone w/ 105, mavic ksyrium equipes and an upgraded Dura-Ace crank. I love it but I wish I had the extra money for full carbon - easier on your butt after 45miles in the saddle.

Gran Fondo in Nashville is one of the largest Bianchi dealers in the Eastern U.S. Give them a call regarding the 928 in celeste or Glory Cycles in Orlando. Keep us posted.

·
Registered
84 Posts
Where are you located ...... you mentioned a 2K budget but you didn't mention $? Then "Raleigh" got me thinking you may be UK based?

My comment re: the Via Nirone is that at 2K (£ or $) you should be onto a better bike (not saying there is anything wrong with the Via Nirone!) - 2K should easily get you onto a 928 with a suitable groupo.