Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK, this is my first build, but I've been riding and maintaining my bikes for over 15 years.

Just bought a Dolan CX frame and have a road bike with an FSA Gossimer compact crank and Ultegra everything else that I want to swap over. I picked up Avid 6 shorties and a English thread BB but when I put the cranks in and bolted it together the sprocket side crank arm hits the chainstay as it goes around. Can I space that out with washers and if so how much clearance should I have or do I need a special cx type crank? I was expecting everything to just go over to the new frame.

Thanks, this is probably the first of many questions, DK

·
Registered
969 Posts
Sounds like you need a longer bottom bracket spindle - if such things exist for the type of bottom bracket you need (I'm not familiar with fsa cranks at all).

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Not sure what an IBIS bb is, but I just installed a new FSA bb that came with a green plastic cap that fits over the bb end and it says exodrive on it. Not sure what that is for (a spacer?), no instructions came with it and the bb screwed on without problem. A friend of mine brought over a new Gossimer crank he had and it looked like the same one I had but it fit, the crank arm missed the chainstay (just barely). On his is had a marking on it that said 130 BCD and mine said 110 BCD. It seems the span of the unit is the same, it's just the crank arms seem to have a little more bend to them allowing the clearance needed.

Still wondering if I just need to shim it out with a couple washers????

Thanks, DK

·
Registered
3,444 Posts
daklugdad said: