Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
467 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I know that there is overlap between the chainrings and the cassette that yield the same gear ratios ie 30/12 42/17 52/21. Is there any difference in input required for these 3 pairings?

·
Registered
281 Posts
The 52/21 is the best.

Although they have the same ratio, the use of a larger crank and a larger cog is more mechanically efficient due to a smoother rotation and less frictional losses.

·
Cycling induced anoesis
13,006 Posts
M-theory said:
The 52/21 is the best.

Although they have the same ratio, the use of a larger crank and a larger cog is more mechanically efficient due to a smoother rotation and less frictional losses.
I'm no expert (so hopefully one will come along and answer this), but I would think the opposite would be true... small/ small yields lower friction, making the 42/17 the best combo.

·
Registered
21,542 Posts
Science vs. thinking

PJ352 said:
I'm no expert (so hopefully one will come along and answer this), but I would think the opposite would be true... small/ small yields lower friction, making the 42/17 the best combo.
Since any mechanical engineer will tell you that you will get less friction with larger cog diameter (all else equal), why would you "think" that the opposite would be true? Inquiring minds want to know :)

·
Cycling induced anoesis
13,006 Posts
Kerry Irons said:
Since any mechanical engineer will tell you that you will get less friction with larger cog diameter (all else equal), why would you "think" that the opposite would be true? Inquiring minds want to know :)
(My) logic dictates that less friction would occur where there is less interaction between (in this case) chain, rings and cogs. Simple as that.

Assuming you were referring to your own inquiring mind, hopefully that'll satisfy it. :D

·
Registered
14,713 Posts
PJ352 said: