Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Hey, where's Perry?
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Although I have been riding casually for about 8 years now, I am only now starting to pay close attention to what I am doing. Last week, for example, I noticed that I don't track nearly as well as I thought... within about 18 inches of center, I am all over the place. I understand fixing that is a matter of time, and paying attention to a smooth cadence. Easier said than done.

Today, I noticed that often when I downshift going uphill, the gear change is abrupt, almost to the point of being violent. Is this because of my vintage 2003 Sora drivetrain? Is it a matter of technique? (I can't make the gear change smoother by letting up the torque, but going uphill, that's just about the last thing I want to do.) Or, channeling Abe Simpson, is the answer a little of Column A, a little of Column B?

·
Registered
151 Posts
Yeah, probably a little from column A, little from column B.

In my limited experience, proper derailleur adjustment can make a little bit of difference in the smoothness of shifts, and keeping things clean a bit more.

Shifts are definitely going to be smoother if you can keep the pedals unweighted. This is going to be really difficult to accomplish if you are standing up and hammering away while making the shift however.

·
What the what???
12,711 Posts
I'm certainly no hill climber, so I'm happy to defer to those with more experience, but I think the answer is a bit more of Column B than A. It's likely more about technique. Ideally, you want to be in the right gear at the start of the climb and do as little shifting as possible. Spin when you can. Get out of the saddle, when you need more power or the grade goes up drastically.