Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello.

So as the title says I'm new the cycling and to the forums. I'd really like to buy a road bike. I own mountain bike, lots of fun, but I live in the city and so a road bike would be awesome to have. I am a college student, so money is not the most of something I have. I'd like to get a good road bike, but not spend a ton of money on one. Most of my activities with the bike will just include a nice workout, more a "i'll go ride 8 miles for my exercise today" and of course to get around from time to time if it is a nice day.

If anyone could give me some suggestions on a decent bike at a great price, that would be awesome. And also, and tips for a noobie starting in something I've always wanted to start.

akhenaton22

·
Scary Teddy Bear
14,791 Posts
also

jaseone said:
You left out the important bit of information... your budget?

if you are new to the forums, be careful of the basement, we can be kinda ornery down in PO........

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
My budget would probably be somewhere between 100-200 dollars. yes yes, very low. But at the same time I'd like something light, but i guess you make do with what you can pay for.

akhenaton22

·
Slowpoke
73 Posts
Check around for a cycling co-operative or a charity-based bike refurbishing shop. There are one or two in most decent sized cities. You can get a much better bike there than you would expect for a couple of hundred dollars. Inquire at a few bike shops regarding where you could donate an old bike and you'll get hooked up with the contact information you need.

·
Strained coccyx etc etc
21,050 Posts
akhenaton22 said:
My budget would probably be somewhere between 100-200 dollars. yes yes, very low. But at the same time I'd like something light, but i guess you make do with what you can pay for.

akhenaton22