Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

· Premium Member
21,853 Posts
We are thinking about investing in our second tank of gas this year.

I've been commuting by bike for 35+ years.

Nothing special about not buying dino fumes.

· Failboat Captian
6,559 Posts
Not much. I have a Dodge Dakota pickup, and haven't moved it from its spot in the driveway in 2 weeks. There is a holly tree in the front corner of the driveway, and yesterday I noticed spiderwebs between the truck and the tree. I think the last time I used it was two Sundays ago, when I drove my MTB to the trailhead. Either that or one day a couple of weeks ago, when I had to wear a suit to the office for some meetings. I think I put about 7k miles per year on it now, and that includes driving 180 mile round trip every weekend in the winters to go skiing. It now costs $80 to fill up the 20 gallon tank. The pain of that has kept me from driving it. Plus it will be needing new brakes and tires soon, so the longer I can put that off, the better. I will have to drive it to the dealer soon, because I just got a recall notice that some electrical thing needs to be fixed.

I just changed the oil in my wife's minivan. Exactly 3k miles, and 9 months (to the day).

· Registered
5,844 Posts
Since I started bike commuting last year, I've gone from filling up my truck every week-10 days to about once every 4-6 weeks. My overall driving mileage dropped from 10,000 miles/year on average to 5,000 miles in 2007. It's also made a significant difference in our budget, particularly with rising gas prices. Also helps reduce maintenance costs. I used to get my oil changed 2-3 times/year and now I only have to do it once.

· Registered
309 Posts