Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 93 Posts

·
Premium Member
21,910 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been working full time since 1969, even worked my way through college (it sucked but looking back at it I am quite greatful that I didn't come out of school with buckets of debt the way kids do nowdays). Miss M has pretty much done the same.

After going through a few rounds of lay-offs in in the 90's I started working 2 jobs (just so I would feel secure). I did that until last summer. Even started my own part-time business (which has worked out great, I should have done that a long time ago).

But......

Lately friends, family and co-workers have been asking us, "What the heck are you still working for?!?"

We really didn't have a good answer other than work is what we do and are used to doing.

But it ain't any fun and hasn't been any fun for a long time.

So we rounded up all our money and put most of it in one place. Got lucky on our timing because we set it up with only a small part in the stock market. Then sat on it for a few months (and bought a second house in Florida).

On Tuesday I had a meeting with the bankers to review our finances. They looked at me and asked, "What the heck are you still working for?!?"

I didn't have a good answer.

Today I give my notice.

Wow.

·
corning my own beef
5,713 Posts
Congrats... 40+ yrs as a working stiff, you've earned it!

what to do with all that spare time you're going to have?

Only in my mid-40's, and just started another job..... but SO anxious to have my financial advisor ask me that same magic question.....

·
Premium Member
21,910 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
JustTooBig said:
Congrats... what to do with all that spare time you're going to have?
We will be working and cleaning things up till early summer.

Then Miss M has decided that we will load a couple of bikes and the kayak into the car and go for a drive.

For a few months.

·
Always changing.....
4,523 Posts