Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just got in to cycling and purchased a OCR 3 Comp all 105. I've been riding for about 3-4 months now and would like to start upgrading some the the stock parts.

Are there any weak spots I should look at first?

Cheers

·
gastarbeiter
1,513 Posts
wheels, saddle, tires...

·
Registered
173 Posts
you have an awesome bike. just enjoy the ride.

if you dont know what you need to upgrade, it probably means that you dont find anything wrong with the bike, and upgrading is unecessary. ride for the pleasure of riding, not for the pleasure of goodies :D

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks

Thanks for the input.....past experiences are that the right tool makes all the difference. With the little knowledge I have of cycling equipment thought maybe I'm missing something. I'm not unhappy with current set up just curious and maybe a little too anxious to start making changes.

·
Registered
717 Posts
The first upgrade I made on my OCR C2 was the brakes. I picked up a pair of Shimano BR600's and have been much happier with the braking performance.

·
ridesondirt
11 Posts
and a question for you

I just bought an 05 OCRc3 2 weeks ago and haven't ridden it yet because of the cold and salt on the roads. However, I've already replaced the tires. The stock treads are OK but they are wire beaded, not folding. Wire is fine if you never flat but these NH roads are horrible and I flat all the time. Have you mounted any bottle cages yet? If so did they interfear with each other? Mine did and the seat tube cage mounts are so low that they cause the bottle to rub the frame (size med.). My dealer is currently working with Giant to find out why and if there is a specific cage for this frame.