Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Anti-Hero
10,343 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
http://www.allaboutvision.com/conditions/ocular-migraine.htm

Anyone around here experience one of these? I just had my 4th one (in about the last 3 years). The first one scared the bejesus out of me because I thought I was having a stroke or something. The eye thing happens first and lasts about 15 minutes, then I get a nagging, though not severe headache. Apparently, the exact cause is unknown :prrr:

I feel like poo now. Maybe I should go to the ER and demand drugs!

·
Sticky Valentine
28,404 Posts
No, but I see bats flying in and out of my peripherals and BJ has now made me all paranoid about it when I always thought it was totally normal.

joe

·
Registered
833 Posts
I'm no expert (engineer, not doctor) and I could be wrong about everything below, but I've had them on and off since I was about 10 years old. Sometimes I'll get a few in one year, sometimes I will go for a few years without. I think for me there might be a connection with stress. The resulting headache isn't too bad for me. When I was a kid and didn't know what they were, they scared me a lot too. I'm 35 now. I do worry about getting one while driving or biking but so far it has usually been at home. I can't see worth a darn when I am having one.

A friend gets them a few times a year, often followed by a raging migraine. She has some meds for them (zolmig and maxalt, I think) but they tend to put her to sleep. Sometimes being sick actually leads to quicker resolution of the symptoms. Avoiding bright light definitely helps feel better. Easiest way to deal with it for me seems to be to just sleep it off if possible.