Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
4,452 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
While disassembling a Shimano Ultegra HB-6500 front hub, I took out 20 balls. Out of curiosity, I checked the Shimano tech document site and this indicated this hub took 22, 3/16 balls. I've been riding this hub with 20 balls since 2000. The races and cones are in great condition. The hub feels a bit less smooth after assembling it with 22 balls.
So, do I go with "if it ain't broke don't fix it", and stick with 10 on each side, or do I go by the Tech doc?

·
Cycling induced anoesis
13,006 Posts
I can honestly say that since I started overhauling hubs I've never looked at a tech document. I know, I should be ashamed. :blush2:

I disassemble, thoroughly clean/ regrease, then drop as many bearings as will fit on the races leaving a space less than the width of one bearing. I'm thinking if you use this method you might end up using 11 on each side, but that's a guess.

If it's bothering you, disassemble the hubs and make sure you've got that shade of clearance I mentioned. But as a FYI, IMO it's best to have as many as will comfortably fit than too few.

·
Steaming piles of opinion
10,503 Posts
Random thoughts:

- A bit less smooth in the hand, or under load? Those can be very different answers.

- You really do want them full. They might feel roughish now because they've been damaged otherwise.

- Are we sure it's not simply that the 22 ball version isn't 1/8th turn tight?

·
Registered
4,452 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
PJ352 said:
I can honestly say that since I started overhauling hubs I've never looked at a tech document. I know, I should be ashamed. :blush2:

I disassemble, thoroughly clean/ regrease, then drop as many bearings as will fit on the races leaving a space less than the width of one bearing. I'm thinking if you use this method you might end up using 11 on each side, but that's a guess.