Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I posted this in the Cannondale section and got no responses. Hopefully someone here might be able to answer the question at the end:

I have an old Crit frame (as well as a new R5000, its sweet but has nothing to do with this post, just bragging I guess)

The rear spacing is 126. I have since donated many of the original parts to a friend's bike. I have enough parts to build a bike up, but the catch is the rear spacing. I have an ultegra/105/velocity 9 speed set of parts.

Most everything I have read warns against trying to cold set aluminum. However, I have tested the fit and it isn't even moderately difficult to fit this wheel between the drops.

In another life I was an aero engineer that specialized in structures. I am familiar with the concepts of metal fatigue, cantilevered loading and sheer stress. However, I was also one of those engineers that enjoyed shooting from the hip more than hours of FEA (probably explains why I don't do that anymore). A large part of me keeps saying 'Come on man, it's only 2mm on each side'. Then again the thought of having a seat/chainstay break at 20mph isn't very attractive.

Here's my question (sorry about the long winded intro): Has anyone either ridden an old cannondale frame with a 130mm wheelset (without cold setting, just sticking it in there) or knows someone who has. If so, how has it worked?

Thanks in advance.

·
Steaming piles of opinion
10,503 Posts
Depends on the year...

There was a period (I'm told my '90 3.0 road race was one of them, not sure how long before or after that) when Cannondale spaced the rear to 128, so that they could work with 126 or 130 equally well. And as you've noticed, the 130's go in without any hesitation or sense of flexing the stays. Similarly, the 126's are just a little floppy until you twist the skewers. You're really only flexing 1mm, which is nothing over that length.

·
n00bsauce