Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 104 Posts

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How many of you have family who fear your entanglement with automobiles? I am fairly new to road-biking, coming out of the MTB world, and my wife is highly concerned about me getting killed, or something worse. Probably most of us have gone to the website http://bicyclesafe.com/

I am sure there are people here who have clocked tens of thousands or more miles on their bikes. For those of you with much experience, can the risk of being hit by a car be reasonably dealt with? Or, are we faced with the horrible outlook of some thoughtless teen swerving in in/out of a lane; an oblivious texter catapulting us into the life hereafter that no amount of bike safety can account for? Well if you are reading this you have survived whatever. I suppose a good start on the discussion would be to analyse accidents to see how preventable they were. What do I do right now to void being hit?

1) a flashing light w a blinker on the back.
2) donning a yellow vest.
3) abide by the 10 tips on bicyclesafe.com

·
Forever a Student
4,963 Posts
Never been to that website and never plan on going there, not clicking that link.

Yes, the risk can be reasonably dealt with, we all have our own approach.

If you ride like I do, the chances of someone not seeing you and hitting you are way below 1%.

What do you do? What you're comfortable with. What I do others won't/can't do, what makes me comfortable others can't handle and vice versa.

There's plenty of folks that ride with earphones in, stay to the right of the road always and just mind their own business. They don't interact with cars, they just do their own thing. There's many professionals like this. I couldn't do it. I'm the opposite.