Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Ricardo Cabeza
19,515 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’m going to attempt to make a playable resonator out of this.... thing.

·
Spicy Dumpling
9,716 Posts
I'll stick with buying my guitars but I can't wait to see and hear what you do with this thing. Looking forward to you playing Romeo and Juliet. I started playing guitar about a year ago and I'm starting to be able to play with a low bleeding ear quotient fro the missus. Picking up a new guitar tomorrow. I'll buy mine thank you.

·
Spicy Dumpling
9,716 Posts
And BTW BikeBoy has started a new career as a luthier.

·
half-fast
7,377 Posts
I spent a year making guitars out of trash.

All were playable with a slide.

Go. Man, go. We believe in you

·
Ricardo Cabeza
19,515 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
This is pretty trashy. I’m not sure if it was an attempt to make an actual functional guitar or some kind of display piece. The metal work is bad, but I can fix that (remind me to post a picture of the Mjolnir my son and I made out of 1/8” flat steel). There are issues with the scale length and the fret placement, and there appears to be a failed attempt to relocate the frets. And they also apparently used an entire package of epoxy to glue the neck on, and it appears they fashioned the nut entirely from the same material. I think I’ll just saw the neck off and toss it. At the very least I’ll have to mess with the frets again, because if you look at the frets up past the 5th, the spacing is all over the place. I may have to modify the body to fit a neck because there isn’t much room for changing the scale length by moving the biscuit.

I dunno, I suppose I’ll spend Gretsch money and get something that plays as well as a First Act 🤣

I bought this on Shop Goodwill, I suppose I can buy a broken guitar for parts.

·
Ricardo Cabeza
19,515 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Came today finally. Some quality luthery went into this thing, I’ll tell you.