Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

· Registered
1,473 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
After not being on a bike since 1989, I got back on one this year. I had enough of being inactive and the weight I gained in my years idle since the marine corp. One day, i got fed up, impulsed buy a cannondale R500 (since my last bike in 1989 was a cannondale).

I have lost 30 pounds since feb, ride over 100 miles a week. train in different heart rate zones and all that, changed my diet, quit playing on my computers (except to surf for bike stuff). My last accomplishment was riding up Mt Diablo in my area. it took me 4 hours, and I had to walk more than ride the last mile, but I made it.

By November I will be ready to reward myself with a new ride. I plan to spend 2000-3000 dollars. Not a lot for some of you, but I am only a teacher with a family in the bay area. You know, the place where starter homes are 450k.

Of course, the lower cost of the bike will leave me more cash for upgrades in shoes, etc.

I have made spreadsheets, comparing all sorts of bikes. Some I have to rule out because there is no place I can test ride them (I will never buy without testing again) Such brands as BH, Ridley, Blue.

I have to rule out: Giant, Trek, and Specialized. There is a part of me that wants to be a little different.

So, from my list of Six-13, Synapse, Pinarello Galileo, BH Global Concept l50, Ridley, Scott CR1, Kona Zing Ddelux, Bianchi Virata, Orbea Onix, and Cervelo Soloist Team; I am down to the last 2. Off course this is a pre-test ride phase. But as of now, they appeal to me the most. And they are apples and oranges. All AL vs. all Carbon.

I am not scared off by AL. I dont feel the vibration, road noise, numbness etc. from my cannondale, of course because I dont know any better. ignorance is bliss. I do know my frame is too small, so something that fits will be enough for me.