Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
274 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Best road bike I ever owned - bar none.

OK – it is my first road bike ...... but stilll ......

I obviously have nothing to compare so I am the proverbial blank slate. I am coming fresh to this new sport – after making myself ride over 100 miles on an old GT mtb that I converted to greenway use – to make sure I wanted to get back into biking – this time the road sort.

I bought the bike, sight-unseen from Art’s Cyclery out in CA. It is a 2013 close out special. I paid $1,699 – shipped to my house. Full SRAM Apex – except for the house brakes. Art’s did a fantastic job packing the bike – after having verified that all the things needing adjustment were adjusted correctly. I am 6’1 and tad under 200 lbs – I wear 34” inseam jeans – and I ordered the 57cm version.

I purposefully sought a SRAM equipped bike after trying both systems – again as a total newb. The SRAM felt more natural and intuitive to me.

I’ve ridden about 25 miles on it so far – and probably around an hour and a half on the trainer. No surprise – I am quite a bit faster than I was on the old bike. The ride is also significantly more comfortable. It seems to roll well. It seems to handle well. It seems to shift well. It seems to stop well.

Again – first road bike. Not much to compare it too. I think I have the seat height, seat position and stem height about right – but I plan on taking it in for a fitting next week after a few more miles.
Here is a picture:

·
Just an ordinary Joe!
172 Posts
Awesome Sundog! Orbea makes great road bikes that have great colors and geometries for a very diverse set of riders. Love matte black or is that very very dark grey????

Now ride that beast like you stole her!

·
Registered
274 Posts
Discussion Starter #3