Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Festina Lente'
11,512 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
well... maybe not clinical depression, but really bad lows...

So, sunday I did my longest ride to date. A 70+ Mile loop from the San Fernando Valley in LA, towards LAX, down to Dockweiler beach, back up sepulveda. Was loads of fun, 5ish hours in the saddle. I was spent on the way home, had to stop twice for gatoraide/food.

Anyways fast forward to this week, I hit a serious low starting mondayish...that is continuing to today. Just wondering if there can be a connection...Does this make any sense? or am I just looking for connections where they dont exist?

thanks

nK

·
Registered
148 Posts
I am not a doctor, but I have experienced similar symptoms at a couple of occasions.

I found the reason to be simple exhaustion. I have noticed how the lack of sleep over an extended period of time can significantly affect the feeling of wellbeing.

I would assume that the reason for the downish feelings will disappear as the body recovers from the ride.
The times when I ride until I hit the wall, are practically always followed by a temporary feeling of disgust for biking and some lethargy. The only thing that helps is to sleep, eat and just let the body recover.

Don't worry... The temporary feeling of being down will probably be followed by an urge a few days later to try to go even further and faster. With the improvement of the physical condition, the wall comes later and later. In time, you will be riding centuries and enjoy every second of it.

·
I ride in circles..
4,990 Posts
I rode 115 miles this past Saturday (My longest distance yet). Sunday I was a little sore but i forced myself to ride a 20 mile ride to loosen up. Actually felt decent on my bike. Monday I rode almost 30 miles with a few fast pace sets.. Still felt decent.
Last night I wanted to ride all day.. got home.. got ready... got riding.. After 8 miles I said eff this and went home.