Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I have little riding experience and want to get into roadbiking. I currently lift and run marathons and am looking for a new cardiovascular workout and eventually participate in 5-7 day road bike tours. Would anyone recommend paying a professional to size and fit me appropriately or is that not necessary. The Spin Cycle company fits for $125...is that worth it. Any advice???

·
Censored by *********
1,397 Posts
It certainly wouldn't hurt. However, depending on which bike you go for, it may be included in the price. You might start by going to your local bike shop and trying out some bikes in your price range. The shop will do their best to fit you properly, and more than likely, you will fit a standard frame size. If things don't feel right after multiple efforts to rectify the problems, you may need a special size that can only be accomodated by a custom builder.

Paul

·
Premium Member
20,473 Posts
In my opinion it's worth it to pay for a fit. Depending on where you live, too many bike shops will try to sell you something in stock even though it might not be right for you. If you pay them for a fit, you're under no further obligation. Coming from a marathon background, you're well aware of the importance of proper shoe fit. A bike not only has to fit the legs but the upper body as well.

I wish I had a professional fit when I started riding. I spend hundreds of dollars on frames, stems, handle bars, and other items trying to get the correct fit. The $125 fit would have been much cheaper in the long run........

I'm not familar with the company you mention but $125 is not out of line for a professional fit...

·
Registered
1,429 Posts
What do you think of this thought

Go to the best road shop in town. One preferable owned by a serious bike guy.