Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
777 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just started playing and it's consuming my life, which is particularly unfortunate since I have my semester finals.

Any masters of the game have any tips or hints to offer to a n00b? It's frustrating when the computer wins more races for me when I simulate a race rather than me winning the race by playing it.

I've search game sites but findings are sparse and not informative. They do lists two useless cheats that I refuse to use. Winning a PC game is more gratifying w/o them.

·
Registered
1,272 Posts
I have the Cycling Manager 3 version, from a couple years ago. I would say the keys were to put the riders in sprint mode early, like with 1 or 1.5 km to go. Also, watch your lead rider's energy level, have him do as little as possible until the end. And if you get a rider in a break, don't work. The computer guys aren't smart enough to start cursing at you. They keep working and you can attack towards the end. How is the latest version? give some race reports.

·
Registered
777 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Currently, I'm managing T-Mobile.

Andreas Kloden just won the Tour with Ullrich runner up at "46 and Menchov finishing in
3rd. My more disappointing rider is Vinokourov, who withdrew from the Tour and hasn't won a Classic yet. Andreas Klier is my most consistent rider with two 4th place finishes in the Ronde van Vlaanderan and Roubaix, which were both won by Boonen.

My two sprinters, Olaf Pollack and Zabel, are having a prolific season. Pollack started early and won 3 consecutive stages of the GP Qatar followed by more Continental wins and is the current Deutschland Champion. Zabel swept most of the races ending in
"-farht", won Tour stages, and numerous more Continental race wins.