Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

· Registered
104 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
anyone every make a not so brilliant, high speed turn that resulted in the inside turning pedal making contact with the ground? I did such a think just yesterday. A few square inches of skin lost may seem like a steep price to pay (I've never crashed a road bike) for such a mistake, but really made me think about consistent pedaling.

I'm new to the fixed gear and am really stoked on it. this was a hard lesson to learn, but made me immediately respect the fixed gear (and see why the velodrome has banked turns).

cheers

· Registered
507 Posts
I have been riding ss more - riding to work - and the problem disappears. One thing about riding fixed that I like is that you have to be real alert.

· Registered
409 Posts
I learned that lesson the hard way on a mountain bike before I ever rode a fixie. Mashing hard into a sharp turn with bad timing and over the handlebars I went. On top of that the crash somehow popped my tire off the rim just a little bit so it was still holding the tube, which I didn't notice inspecting the bike afterwards. Get back on and start pedaling and not 100 ft later, pop, and over the handlebars I go again. That was a bad day.

Of course my worst crash, which will never be forgotten, was me riding with baggy pants that got stuck in the crank of my fixie. Please, for me, never, ever, let that happen to you. I still think about it constantly when I ride. Bike did a nose dive that brought me down with it. Bent my bullhorns straight down. Honestly I don't know how I didn't break my hand somehow but a few square inches of skin? Yes, on my hands. Very very ouch. Then, bleeding everywhere, I had to right my handlebars, compose myself, and ride shaking another 3 miles home.

· Carbon Fiber = Explode!
3,955 Posts
roadfix said:
I've pedal struck on free wheeling bikes before but never on a fixed gear.