Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

· Registered
1,076 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Over 4 years I developed a chronic case of patella femoral syndrome. I believe started with the way I pedal the bike. After I started jogging, the problem got chronic.

I have a pretty big muscle imbalance in my quads. I favor the outside quad muscles over the inside muscles, which is causing my kneecap to track off center. The muscles on the inside of my knee/thigh are so weak its a challenge just to get them to fire in PT sessions.

Are there specific things I can look at on my pedal/seat setup to help me not favor the outter quadraceps?

· Registered
52 Posts
Same thing happened to me...

First, a pedal system will not be a fix. When I had problems I looking into pedal systems but procrastination got the best of me and I am still on SPDs with very little float but am back to normal riding. That said many people have good results with Speedplay.

What made a big difference was seeing a PT and FOLLOWING THE TRAINING PLAN. It sounds like you have already seen a PT good move IMO. However, it took 2 months of training to even begin to see results. After that and using good cadence I have minimal problems (max 2 days rest needed).

Also rest days were important to keep inflammation under control. So good luck you have some hard work ahead of you.

· Registered
3,431 Posts
Kristin said:
Over 4 years I developed a chronic case of patella femoral syndrome. I believe started with the way I pedal the bike. After I started jogging, the problem got chronic.

I have a pretty big muscle imbalance in my quads. I favor the outside quad muscles over the inside muscles, which is causing my kneecap to track off center. The muscles on the inside of my knee/thigh are so weak its a challenge just to get them to fire in PT sessions.

Are there specific things I can look at on my pedal/seat setup to help me not favor the outter quadraceps?