Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I want to get a set of pedals online that will go with most shoes on the market. I want road specific shoes not MTB shoes. I'm new to the sport and am IN LOVE WITH IT! So I'm looking for 1st of all what are people's recommendations for pedals under 75. And then what sites are good to order from. I would really like to avoid EBAY i have the worst luck with it.

Thanks everyone,
Aleks

·
Registered
274 Posts
Man, take your choice. Look, Time, Speedplay being the most common pedals I see with my riding buddies, virtually all the shoes you can purchase should be pre-drilled for any of these cleat styles.

Don't like Ebay? Want to order new stuff? Try Pro Bike Kit in the UK (www.probikekit.com). Don't let the overseas website scare you. I've had excellent delivery from those guys, and their prices are generally the lowest.

·
Registered
86 Posts
for under $75.... then you are pretty limited.
Forget about Look or Time as they will be 2x to 3x what you want to spend.
Your choices may be pedals like Wellgo's (at MEC stores) or try a set of Shimano PR-R540's. At least they will get you use to clipping in and clipping out.
If i were you i would spend a tiny bit more and but the Speedplay LightAction chromolys for about $110. They are light and you never have to look down to clip in.

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I would love to spend a little more but I'm doing this on a budget. I'm a college kid about to go to grad school. I love the sport but it's an arm and a leg. I also have really flat feet so I want to spend the money on better shoes.

·
Registered
37 Posts
Bill Silverman said:
Man, take your choice. Look, Time, Speedplay being the most common pedals I see with my riding buddies, virtually all the shoes you can purchase should be pre-drilled for any of these cleat styles.