Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
have a question about the above. i've been riding a mtn bike for 3 years. got a Litespeed Teramo last Nov and rode it on a trainer all winter. have been out on the roads 4 times so far. it's nice and stable most of the time, including coasting downhill up to 40+. i notice a 'shimmy' however when i'm pedaling fast at that transition point at the bottom of a downhill going to flat or starting back up. i'm 5'10" and 200lbs. not fat but would like to lose a few.

i'm thinking this is related to a less than perfect pedal stroke. likely? is this usual?

also, i've got neuvation aero wheels on it and i noticed some shimmy in a strong crosswind last time i was out. i've heard aero wheels are susceptible to crosswind affects but not sure what those affects would be. is shimmy one of them?

thanks for any and all help

·
Registered
1,859 Posts
Shimmy, wobble, or instability?

daverk said:
have a question about the above. i've been riding a mtn bike for 3 years. got a Litespeed Teramo last Nov and rode it on a trainer all winter. have been out on the roads 4 times so far. it's nice and stable most of the time, including coasting downhill up to 40+. i notice a 'shimmy' however when i'm pedaling fast at that transition point at the bottom of a downhill going to flat or starting back up. i'm 5'10" and 200lbs. not fat but would like to lose a few.

i'm thinking this is related to a less than perfect pedal stroke. likely? is this usual?