Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to the road biking scene. On the few club rides I have been on I notice that many riders stay in the big chainring while climbing hills. Myself, I shift to the small chainring (34 teeth on a compact double) and spin up the hill, very often passing the more experienced riders who are pedalling their large chainring with some difficulty. I even get complimented on my climbing skills. Why do people use the big chainring on climbs? Does it make your stronger?

·
Registered
21,831 Posts
Pride

Josh M said:
I notice that many riders stay in the big chainring while climbing hills. Myself, I shift to the small chainring (34 teeth on a compact double) and spin up the hill, very often passing the more experienced riders who are pedalling their large chainring with some difficulty. I even get complimented on my climbing skills. Why do people use the big chainring on climbs? Does it make your stronger?
Big gear climbing is a known method by which to increase your power. However, my guess is that your riding companions are suffering either from poor riding skills or some sort of foolish pride about their gear choices, or perhaps both. :)

·
Registered
205 Posts
You're passing 'em!

You're passing 'em- what's that tell you?

Some people will keep it in the big ring to build power. As an old guy, that would just skree my knees out for months.

Some people keep it in the big ring because they know the hill, have the power to do it, carry their momentum, and frickin' fly. My hat's off to 'em!

Some people are just too blasted to shift. I've been there- either too tired to shift or too brain dead- so just gut it out. Sometimes my butt is aching and I just need to stand and stretch. Of course, my "big ring" is 50...