Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Newbie here with a Pedal question...

I'm shopping for a new bike. I rode a lot as a kid (Falcon Cycles) and realize a road bike is more to my liking than the hybrid I bought a couple years ago.

My question is about the pedals the bikes come with. I'm a larger person - 6'2" 260. I also have "canal boats" for feet - size 15W. I can find cycling shoes in my size, but at this point, for the type of riding I do, I don't want to be tied on to the pedals. Trust me, when you're my size you're more apt to be clumsy! As for the toe clips, forget getting my shoe/sneakers into them. It's not going to happen.

My question is, do they make standard pedals for road bikes that are on the larger size to accommodate big shoes? I thought I read somewhere on another forum that someone makes a pedal that extends out farther so that your shoes aren't rubbing on the crank.

All opinions welcome.

Thanks,

Mike

·
Registered
98 Posts
if your not going to get clipless pedals, i would not get "cycling shoes".. there are bigger pedals in the mtn bike world.. go look for some platform pedals (downhillers and freeriders use them).. or just go talk to your lbs and tell them your concerns.. fyi.. prolly should post this in the beginners corner..

·
Registered
54 Posts
I've got a set of magnesium block 8 platform pedals on my cyclocross bike, intended more for mountain biking but they do the trick.

I wear a size 11.5 EEEE, so cycling shoes are pretty much out of the question. And at 6'0"/260lbs and having to go through some stop and go traffic on my morning commute I'm probably better off not being clipped in.

·
Registered
1,932 Posts
mikebordo said:
OK, thanks, I'll talk to the LBS.

"prolly should post this in the beginners corner.." Sorry, I'm new here and didn't know the rules. I'll pay more attention next time.

Mike