Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
2,720 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Ok, I am not big on the fashionista, but I wanted to get another opinion or two with a bar tape question. First let me explain that I am a newbie and have been using SPD pedals up until now. However, I got these purple LOOK pedals with some Shimano shoes w/LOOK cleats thrown in for free with another bike I bought and I am trying to give them a home.

I really like how much easier it is to clip in to these LOOKs and I like how they feel, but they sure are ugly. I just got some black/purple marble Cinelli bar tape for $8 that I was hoping would be just enough to make the pedals palatable. I think that this will grow on me with some time but what do my fellow RBR's have to say?

Also, the mirror I got with a miscellaneous assortment of bike stuff and I haven't tried it out yet.

A.) Should I go with the marble bar tape?

B.) If not, does anyone want to swap a set of black Look pedal for these purple ones?

Worst case scenario if it doesn't grow on me, the bike came with some very worn SPDs that I could put back on and I could eBay the purple LOOKs.

·
a jumped up pantry boy
1,784 Posts
did you make the mirror look at your crotch on purpose?

·
Registered
2,720 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
yarble said:
did you make the mirror look at your crotch on purpose?
Sadly enough, I am not that clever.... good thing my zipper was up though, I could have ended up on the PG forum :p

·
n00bsauce
13,507 Posts
Stick with black tape and either strip the pedals or paint them black.

·
Registered
2,720 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Mel Erickson said:
Stick with black tape and either strip the pedals or paint them black.
I would be cool with painting them, what kind of paint will stick and look decent?

·
Resident Curmudgeon
11,979 Posts
I think it looks fine just the way it is.

·
n00bsauce
13,507 Posts