Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i'm so stoked on fixed gear riding. i'm a student and for some reason keep talking about fixed gear riding. all the kids i talk to don't seem to understand why i love having a fixed gear. i try to explain the training benifits, nothing. i explain to them the uniqueness of fixed gear riding, nothing. i tell them that i don't need conventional breaks, nothing. i try to explain that it is hard core, nothing. i think it is really funny that people have no idea why someone rides fixed.
are most of the people using this site track racers or are you guys just loving the uniqueness of fixies? i'm on the MSU triathlon team and one of my buddies is going to do a triathlon on his ghetto fixed gear bike he made. that kicks ass. i'm just home on a friday night drinking homebrew and wanted to vent on how people just don't understand how fun a fixed gear can be. hope all of your weekends are filled with riding and fun. hasta luego cabron!!!!

·
Clear Lake, TX
3,268 Posts
Most here like riding fixed on the road, but I don't know how many have raced track. I raced track in the early 90's as a 3 and occasionally race now. Fixed on the road is the most fun though. I ride it in fast group rides, so a front brake is a must for safety and survival. I'd recommend one for campus survival as well.

Don't worry about what others are missing out on. Just enjoy each ride enough to make it the best ride you've ever had.

·
It's not TOO Cold!
2,498 Posts