Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm considering purchase of a '72 PX-10 that represents a component upgrade (and a more appropriate frame size) over the PX-10 (tubular rims & tires) that I've had since '71. I love the ride of my old frame, too small though it's always been, the flex in the front fork particularly that gives an exciting ride over moderately bumpy surfaces. I can't claim to do a lot of long-distance riding anymore, because my 60-year old joints can't take too much pounding and compression, so a little 15-mile tour is the most I've done since I started riding again recently. Another short-coming of this bike is it's inability to downshift under load, like going up a hill. So this raises the question: over the long term, will I come to appreciate sufficiently the advantages that modern bikes have over this vintage frame to justify laying out significantly more cash? I'm thinking I'd be willing to spend $1500-2000 (if there were enough improvement in ride that I ended up riding more ) compared with maybe $600 plus whatever it takes to switch out the Peugeot's freewheel and clinchers for a wider-range freewheel and new tubular wheels. When I read reviews of bikes like the LeMond Tete de Course, it's tempting enough to make me consider abandoning the old ride I've become so fond of. It's probably a bit like comparing apples & oranges, but the short test rides the shops allow don't really tell me much about how I'll feel after I've put a few hundred miles on it. Thanks in advance for any suggestions you might have.!!

·
Registered
1,158 Posts
If you're willing to spend $1500-$2000 on a new bike, I'm sure you'll be able to get a ride that is more reliable and more comfortable comfortable than your Peugeot. It probably won't have the soul of your old bike, but it will still be a lot of fun to have a new set of wheels.

·
Banned
446 Posts